• Hotel Andrew Johnson

    Thompsons, Inc. Commercial Photographers

    The Andrew Johnson Hotel opened on Gay Street in 1929 and prospered throughout the Great Depression. Its numerous guests included Jean Paul Sarte, Duke Ellington, Amelia Erhart, Liberace, Tony Perkins…

    View Full Item  in University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Libraries
  • Hotel Atkin and Economy Drug Co.

    Clay Brown Atkin (1864-1931) built the Hotel Atkin in the late 1870s on Knoxville's Gay Street. Atkin also ran a business manufacturing furniture and mantels, developed a number of other Knoxville and…

    View Full Item  in University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Libraries
  • Three-picture postcard

    This unusual postcard shows the Hotel Farragut on Gay Street, the TVA's Norris Dam (finished in 1936), and the Great Smoky Mountains National Park (formally dedicated in 1940). This card was mailed fr…

    View Full Item  in University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Libraries
  • Hotel Andrew Johnson

    The Andrew Johnson Hotel opened on Gay Street in 1929 and prospered throughout the Great Depression. Its numerous guests included Jean Paul Sarte, Duke Ellington, Amelia Erhart, Liberace, Tony Perkins…

    View Full Item  in University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Libraries
  • Farragut Hotel

    Thompsons, Inc. Commercial Photographers

    Named after Admiral David Glasgow Farragut, the Hotel Farragut opened on the corner of Gay and Clinch (the site of the old Imperial Hotel) on February 1, 1919. It flourished until 1929 when the Andrew…

    View Full Item  in University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Libraries
  • Lobby of the St. James Hotel

    Originally known as the Van Deventer building, the St. James Hotel was built shortly after the "Million Dollar Fire" of 1897. During the 1920s, the hotel developed a reputation as a musical center: WN…

    View Full Item  in University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Libraries
  • Stratford Hotel

    This picture was taken shortly after the completion of the Stratford Hotel at 409 Wall Avenue in 1905. Although not as well known as the Andrew Johnson Hotel or the St. James Hotel, the Stratford Hote…

    View Full Item  in University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Libraries
  • Hotel Farragut

    Named after Admiral David Glasgow Farragut, the Hotel Farragut opened on the corner of Gay and Clinch (the site of the old Imperial Hotel) on February 1, 1919. It flourished until 1929 when the Andrew…

    View Full Item  in University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Libraries
  • Farragut Hotel

    Named after Admiral David Glasgow Farragut, the Hotel Farragut opened on the corner of Gay and Clinch (the site of the old Imperial Hotel) on February 1, 1919. It flourished until 1929 when the Andrew…

    View Full Item  in University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Libraries
  • St. James Hotel

    Originally known as the Van Deventer building, the St. James Hotel was built shortly after the "Million Dollar Fire" of 1897. During the 1920s, the hotel developed a reputation as a musical center: WN…

    View Full Item  in University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Libraries
  • Hotel Farragut

    Named after Admiral David Glasgow Farragut, the Hotel Farragut opened on the corner of Gay and Clinch (the site of the old Imperial Hotel) on February 1, 1919. It flourished until 1929 when the Andrew…

    View Full Item  in University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Libraries
  • St. James Hotel

    Originally known as the Van Deventer building, the St. James Hotel was built shortly after the "Million Dollar Fire" of 1897. During the 1920s, the hotel developed a reputation as a musical center: WN…

    View Full Item  in University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Libraries
  • Dining room of the Imperial Hotel

    The Imperial Hotel was built on the corner of Gay and Clinch Streets in about 1894. It replaced several older businesses, including the Hotel Hattie. The Imperial burned down in 1916 and was replaced…

    View Full Item  in University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Libraries
  • Sitting room of the Imperial Hotel

    The Imperial Hotel was built on the corner of Gay and Clinch Streets in about 1894. It replaced several older businesses, including the Hotel Hattie. The Imperial burned down in 1916 and was replaced…

    View Full Item  in University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Libraries
  • Hotel Imperial

    The Imperial Hotel was built on the corner of Gay and Clinch Streets in about 1894. It replaced several older businesses, including the Hotel Hattie. The Imperial burned down in 1916 and was replaced…

    View Full Item  in University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Libraries
  • Park Inn

    The Park Inn opened in late 1931 in what had been Phi Gamma Delta's Fraternity House at 1541 West Cumberland Avenue. Although it advertised itself as "Knoxville's Outstanding Tourist Home ... Strictly…

    View Full Item  in University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Libraries
  • Whittle Springs Hotel

    The original Whittle Springs Hotel was built in about 1902 about three miles to the north of Knoxville. It advertised such conveniences as electric lights, baths, unexcelled cuisine, and both telephon…

    View Full Item  in University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Libraries
  • Hotel Atkin

    Clay Brown Atkin (1864-1931) built the Hotel Atkin in the late 1870s on Knoxville's Gay Street. Atkin also ran a business manufacturing furniture and mantels, developed a number of other Knoxville and…

    View Full Item  in University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Libraries
  • Sitting room of the Imperial Hotel

    The Imperial Hotel was built on the corner of Gay and Clinch Streets in about 1894. It replaced several older businesses, including the Hotel Hattie. The Imperial burned down in 1916 and was replaced…

    View Full Item  in University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Libraries
  • St. James Hotel

    Originally known as the Van Deventer building, the St. James Hotel was built shortly after the "Million Dollar Fire" of 1897. During the 1920s, the hotel developed a reputation as a musical center: WN…

    View Full Item  in University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Libraries
12Next